Our Stories

A Nunatsiavut Field Guide to the Birds of Labrador



Tradition & Transition is governed by two bodies, each with equal representation from Nunatsiavut and academic partners. The Executive Board assures administrative and financial oversight, while the Project Management Committee offers direction to the principal investigator and staff, reviews individual research projects for approval, and assists in the planning of events, publications and productons. The Project Management Committee is structured to assure representation from all Nunatsiavut communities, youth and Elders, and across a range of research interests.

In addition to the governance structure, Transition & Transition has contracted the Inuit Qaujisarvingat (Inuit Knowledge Centre) at Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami to provide an arms-length evaluation of the partnership at strategic points on the project's timeline.

The current membership of the Tradition & Transition governing bodies includes:

Executive Board

Signing Officer, Nunatsiavut GovernmentIsabella Pain
Signing Officer, Memorial UniversityNeil Bose
Community Representative, Nunatsiavut
University Representative, MemorialLisa Rankin
SecretaryAndrea Quigley

Project Management Committee

Co-chair, MemorialLisa Rankin
Co-chair, NunatsiavutBelinda Webb
SecretaryAndrea Quigley
Members Andrea Procter (Memorial, St. John's)
Valeri Pilgrim (Nunatsiavut, St. John's)
Michelle Davies (Memorial, Nain)
Silpa Suarak (Nunatsiavut, Nain)
Hans Rollmann (Memorial, St. John's)
Don Dicker, Sr (Nunatsiavut, Nain)
Jim Goudie (Nunatsiavut, Postville)
Heather Igloliorte (Concordia, Montreal)
Amy Prouty (Concordia, Montreal)
Jessica Winters (Nunatsiavut, Makkovik)
Beverly Hunter (Nunatsiavut, Hopedale)
Inez Shiwak (Nunatsiavut, Rigolet)


Principal Investigator Lisa Rankin
Project CoordinatorAndrea Quigley
Web Content CoordinatorChelsee Arbour
Social Media CoordinatorsAndréanne Couture
Meghann Livingston